National Continued Competency Program (NCCP model).

MA OEMS has adopted the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) for recertification. The following is an overview of the requirements by the three categories within the NCCP:

The NCCR which includes specific topics and outlines. 1/3 of these courses may be completed online, via

The LCCR may include approved EMS courses mandated by OEMS or the Region. NONE of these courses may be completed online. These are courses which typically include information unique to MA or the Region. Any approved EMS course can currently be used in this category, unless otherwise mandated, but examples of "Local" type topics include: Protocol Update, ALS/BLS Interface, Interfacility Transfer, MOLST, STEMI POE, Stroke POE, Trauma POE, Stretcher Use & Safety, Restraints, M&M Rounds, BBP.

The ICCR may include any approved EMS course of interest to you. You may complete all of these courses online via

NOTE: National Registry allows a portion of the local hours (LCCR) to be completed onilne. MA OEMS DOES NOT. Please plan accordingly when taking continuing education courses.

Provider Level

National Continued Competency Requirements

(NCCR) Credit Hours*

Local Continued Competency Requirements

(LCCR) Credit Hours

Individual Continued Competency Requirments

(ICCR) Credit Hours

Total hours Max allowed online
EMT 20 10 10 40 17
AEMT 25 (20 BLS/5 ALS) 12.5 12.5 50 18.5
Paramedic 30 15 15 60 25

*NCCR hours must be fulfilled in the required topics. To view MedicEd online courses that meet these topics, follow these links: EMT Courses or Paramedic Courses. These documents have been developed based on the 2012 content requirements at the advice of NREMT for 2017 recertifications. The following recert cycle will use the new 2016 content which is NOT reflected in these documents.

For complete details on recertification and Continuing Education (CE) Requirements by level, click here to go to the MA OEMS website.